Plans, avocados and a seed bomb!

I just sat down to eat some leftover Thai curry after giving the new garden beds a good soaking.  It’s supposed to hit 90 the next two days (and then be back in the 60s and rain (?) on Monday.  Rain would be wonderful!  California snow pack was low this year and the reservoirs were all low.  The horticulture teacher at school keeps talking about how dry it’s been.

Dave and I finished up the remaining lasagna garden bed this past weekend.  I just planted the sugar baby watermelons, and sweet dumpling squash and gave them a little B-1 to help the roots during transplant.  Actually, I just looked up the B-1 thing, because we bought a jug at Home Depot a while back on the saleman’s recommendation.  Turns out, it hasn’t been proven to help.

Last night while watching The Voice, I redrew the backyard plan.  If you can tell the difference, the inked plants have been planted and the penciled plants have not.

gardenplans

Notice the new bed on the lower right.  David’s first garden project of the summer will be building a squash/ melon A frame structure.  We have bamboo that we can cut down and lash together, helping keep our budget for this garden minimal.

The seedlings are coming along.  There will be more squash to plant soon, although we’re still waiting for the Malali Watermelon to germinate and the Mexican Sour Gherkin’s to arrive in the mail.

Speaking of which, we’re also trying to figure out how to get lemongrass.  There’s a woman in the community garden that has bunches, but I haven’t had a chance to introduce myself and ask for a clump.  I also read today about planting a piece of lemongrass that you get from the grocery store.  I seeded some in our greenhouse at school a couple of months ago, and it’s coming along so slowly.  David and I almost bought a plant from the man at the Culver City Farmer’s Market last night, but we’re being patient.

We’ve been patiently waiting for our bushtit to return to her nest.  Neither of us have seen her in two days.  Either she’s in her nest and not moving around, or she decided she didn’t want to nest in our tree after all!  It could have been that David got out the ladder and decided to pick avocados!

lemons

Notice we have two types of avocados  Bacon and Zutano.  They are both thin skinned and have more water than a Haas. We’re finishing picking from one tree, and the other has nickel-sized fruit (and a few full size that the squirrels are still knocking down for us).

We also have a Ponderosa Lemon tree who’s been dropping these huge lemons for us!

I’ve taught my students about guerrilla gardening. We discussed gardening as a political issue, and I told them about some things that have happened in Los Angeles.  I wish we had time to watch The Garden; we spoke of it briefly. I also told them about Ron Finley, and how he was cited for planting a garden on the parkway in front of his house. They were all shocked.  I think they liked Finley’s tag line, “Plant some shit!” the most!

Those who wanted to made seed bombs in school, and I think some of them took some, but I intentionally didn’t pay attention.  I have a vending machine in the classroom, and will be refilling it this week.

seedbomb5.1.13So David and I decided we needed to throw a few in our yard and see how they grow.  Here’s 3 days after “throwing” it.

Everything is growing!  It’s growing faster than it can be eaten by snails and caterpillars. Hope your spring is blooming!

Leave a Reply

